School Community Council

St Mary's Community Council Executive 2024

Chair Mrs Mary Dullard (Parent) Parent Representatives: Lynelle Hamer, Anna Baran-Tangata, Carrie Weston
Deputy Chair Mrs Mel Price (Parent) Staff Representatives: Mrs Genevieve Schofield
Secretary Ms Alison Hulse (Parent) Principal: Mrs Noeleen O'Neill (ex officio member)
Treasurer Parish Priest: Father George Azhakath (ex officio member)

The School Council provides the opportunity for members of the school, parish and Archdiocesan community to support the mission of Catholic education in a particular school. Working with the Parish Priest, Principal and staff the School Community Council members provide leadership to the school community. The School Council has responsibility to take decisions in the following areas:

  • supporting the development of the Catholic ethos of the school;
  • supporting the pastoral care strategies;
  • promoting the school in the local community;
  • developing the school’s enrolment policy in line with the Catholic Education Commission’s enrolment guidelines;
  • approving and monitoring the school-based budget including the fees collection and remission policy;
  • developing capital and maintenance programs;
  • developing local strategy plans (finance, buildings, resources) and contributing to Archdiocesan educational strategic planning;
  • approving school uniform items decided at school level;
  • ensuring that the parish and school community receives the annual School Community Council report; and
  • collaborating with the various Parent Working Parties on the expenditure of funds, in keeping with diocesan regulations.